What I learned spending $2 Million on Facebook Ads

What I learned spending $2 Million on Facebook Ads

The whole Facebook ads world can be very confusing.

Target this interest, don’t do this hack, make sure to exclude certain people.

Good lord, where to even begin.

Over the past two years, I’ve spent over $2,000,000 buying Facebook ads (see below) and when I worked there I helped build their ad system.

Needless to say I have some experience and can share exactly how to do profitable ad spending on Facebook.

(Read all the way to the bottom to download the Checklist to Spend Your First $100 on Facebook)

There are many advanced things that you can read about but I’m going to focus on the fundamentals. In a future post, I’ll share things like day-parting, ad-refreshing, front-loading budgeting and other buzzwords that you should be ignoring.

As marketing “month” continues, (Create a Podcast, Hit #1 on Amazon, Growing Your Blog, Creating a Marketing Plan), I wanted to help people get started with advertising.

A few caveats about online advertising:

Be patient. It can take a day to 6 months to get your online advertising to be profitable.

Not every advertising channel will work for everyone. I’ve spent $100,000+ on Google advertising and only made back $25,000. If you do the math, that’s not good 🙂

When you do find a channel that’s profitable, spend as much as you can, while you can. When I was advertising on a newsletter I found I was spending $750 a week to sponsor and making $1,500 back within 2 weeks. That’s an awesome time to ROI. I didn’t sponsor more than twice a month since I didn’t want to annoy their readers. A friend yelled at me to do more. I moved to four times a month and the ROI stayed at the same rate. I realized there’s a lot of noise online so
it’s okay to advertise

Advertising decays. Over time you need to refresh your advertising if it’s working. At AppSumo we had a full-time person just refreshing our ads a few times a day. It’s a bit easier with news feed ads vs right-side ads.

Profit is all that matters. Ignore people who claim they get some really high Click-through-rate CTR (% of people that actually click their ad). If you are spending but not making money, stop.

Look for free marketing opportunities first. In How to make $1,000 a month business course I personally encourage people NOT to spend on ads until they’ve exhausted other marketing activities. It’s too easy to spend a lot on ads without great results.

Now here’s the step by step instructions on how to spend your first $100 on Facebook:

Step 1: Create your Facebook campaign.

Step 2: Choose Traffic. You can do website conversion but I’d wait on that. Remember we are keeping your first $100 as stupid simple as possible. My progression of spending was not $100,000 the first month, it was actually $400.

Step 3: Create your Ad.

a) You need a Facebook fan page to place ads in the newsfeed. Create one here, it’s free and takes a few minutes.

b) Generally I keep the images simple, ideally of yourself or something not boring.
Look at this boring advertisement, yawn! Such a neat idea for a product.

c) Try to create an ad that uses natural text versus something that seems like an advertisement.

Imagine what you naturally write/post on Facebook vs something that seems like a paid placement.

Here’s behind the scenes of setting it up:

1- Connect to a fan page
2- Choose destination
3- Headline: Give away something for free
4- Text: Social proof showing why the reader should care
5- Call to action: Choose “Learn More”
6- News Feed Link Description: Give call to action for them to get benefit

Here are a couple templates, feel free to copy:

Key notes on creating your newsfeed ad:

  • Include a bit.ly link up top which will get you extra clicks
  • Use the button “Learn More,” we found it converted better than the other ones and versus having nothing.
  • Do not include a right side advertisement. Those are effective for retargeting but personally with the CTR so low it’s not worth it when you’re starting.

Step 4: When trying to figure out your first interest group to target I recommend a few options:

a) Take your top 10 best customers and search their email address / name on Facebook. Then go to their likes and create a spreadsheet of common interests. What you are doing here is finding things you can target for new customers. Look for the 1-2 similar likes across your top customers. That’s who you can target.

b) Go to a competitors fan page and look at the people who like it. Click on their profiles and do the same with option b. We did this with Macheist in the beginning of AppSumo.

c) For the experts out there, we will cover Custom Audience in a future post.

d) If those don’t work I love targeting a direct competitor. At AppSumo I started with Macheist.

Caveat: DO NOT let Facebook recommend broad interest categories. Facebook’s goal is your money. They want to show your ads to whomever is most likely to click. But it’s your job to ensure it’s targeting people that will work.

Step 5: Narrow Your Target Audience. When I first started advertising AppSumo and Monthly1k.com I try to target less than 10,000 audiences. The narrower your target group the more likely you are to have a higher CTR and ultimate conversion to email subscriber or buying customer. If your audience is broad, go more narrow geographically.

Anyone who brags about paying a low CPC (cost per click) is likely getting a horrible ROI (the profit from the amount of money you spent on the advertising). Spent $50, made $100 in profit, roi = 100/50 = 200%) is likely not showing the amount of profit they got from that campaign.

Step 6: Do not buy likes. I hate when people brag about how many likes their fan page has. Facebook controls that communication with your customer, you don’t. Would you like to only talk to your wife through another person. I can’t imagine you would.
When you do Facebook posts, etc, you have almost no say on how many people it will reach. It makes sense to create a free fan page and promote it but do not spend money towards it in the beginning.

Step 7: For the age and gender category, again look at the demographics of your top customers or the people you have email addresses for. The narrower the BETTER. For the Monthly1k course we targeted 25-40 year olds who are in the United States.

Step 8: For the other categories: Languages, Connections and more Categories. I personally encourage you not to touch these in the beginning. Yes, I know the dissenters out there will complain to optimize everything, but I am trying to streamline the process so you can start investing immediately.

Step 9: For countries: Try to pick one or even go deep within a specific city or state. Focus on ONE state / country to begin with. Remember, do less than 10,000 people total.

Step 10: Avoid showing your ads to mobile traffic. You can choose this from the Power Editor but I won’t get into that tool at this time. Most likely your page is not mobile designed and that traffic is less likely to purchase or sign up for an email address. After you get your campaign working that is something you can begin optimizing for mobile.

Step 11: Budget and pricing your Facebook ad
Start small. Set your daily budget at $3.33 (this’ll ensure you don’t spend more than $100 a month).

Aim for $.75 a click. (Don’t worry if that seems high; it’s only 4.4 clicks). The point is to get some clicks to your ad going and then you can lower the amount.
A few notes for you to benchmark your performance with:

  • On most paying products we’ve advertised the conversion from click to paying customer is about .1-2%.
  • Conversion rate to collecting an email should be around 20%.

Things I’ll cover in a future article: retargeting and conversion tracking.

Step 12: Now you’ve gotten started. Congrats… but the real thing is profit. So how do you track your ROI and make your money back?

To start, do stupid ghetto math. Here’s how I do it with advertising Okdork.com:

I spend around $3 / email per sign up.

On some emails I will proudly mention things I’m working on like our How to Start a $1,000 a month business course and our new product SumoMe (free tool for getting more emails / shares on your site).

Surprisingly that is one of the top ways we’ve sold the course this year. Each course makes us around $267 after refunds / dropouts / etc. So I do back of the envelope math as follows:
Course Profit = $267
Email Cost = $3
$267 / $3 = 89

So if 1 out of 89 people via new email signups buy the course then buying ads is profitable.

With AppSumo we’ve built our own internal system to calculate this but I’m showing you the fundamentals for a less complex business. In the next week, we are releasing a simple tracking tool for free via SumoMe, grab it now for free.

Good luck advertising 🙂 Leave a comment on OkDork and share your questions or experiences with Facebook ads.

Click on the image below to Download the Checklist to Spend Your First $100 on Facebook

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100 responses to “What I learned spending $2 Million on Facebook Ads”

Micky Deming
March 4, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Marketing month again?! Haha

This is freaking brilliant.

When you advertise with the ultimate goal of selling a higher priced item, have you seen better results from driving the traffic straight to the high-priced item or from giving something away for an email address and then working up toward a bigger purchase?

Nick Kizirnis
March 5, 2014 at 6:16 am

Dang Noah, that’s just about the best explanation of how to get started with Facebook Ads I’ve seen. I’ve tried out some ads with mixed results just to see how it works, which was a decent learning experience, but I should have waited until I could read this! Thanks, I can’t wait to read the next posts (and no I haven’t spent any $$ on ads for my How to Make $1K/month work … the validation steps you teach made that unnecessary (oh, thanks again!).

Sarah Arrow
March 5, 2014 at 6:31 am

Fantastic, I’m going to have to book mark and come back later to digest the entire post.

Okay some questions – is there a niche where FB advertising does not work well? I’ve tried it with transport and the interaction was minimal and ROI non-existent. My transport business is hyper-local and very specialised so in theory we should have been able to get a better response. The reality of course was far different.

Marketing month? Darn, I’ve missed the others, I shall go and track them down.

Eugen Oprea
March 6, 2014 at 2:48 am

Hey Sarah, because your business is hyperlocal, have you tried to narrow down the audience that will see the ads.

Obviously, it will not make sense for someone in a different region to see it.

Sarah Arrow
March 8, 2014 at 4:18 am

Yes, I only use the narrowed down local audience and restricted to Essex, UK. I’m thinking that unless people have an immediate need for what you’re promoting then they will be oblivious to your ads. That in my opinion makes AdWords more powerful as the adverts are shown when a person is searching for what you’re selling.

Sammul W
October 31, 2015 at 12:12 am

In your case, have you thought about a scenario that a user saw your ad on Facebook, but he didn’t purchase because he didn’t need it immediately. But after couple days, when he needs it, he thinks up of your ad and search it in Google. Facebook maybe potentially drive your business.

Tanvir Chowdhury
March 5, 2014 at 6:59 am

Great stuff Noah. Booked marked this post and will come back to it when required #tacocat

Alfred Milgrom
March 5, 2014 at 7:17 am

This is an AWESOME post.
Brilliant – full of information, real advice and no bull!!

March 5, 2014 at 7:33 am

Hi folks,
I basically agree with Noah’s opinion. However, I do have 3 more recommendations.
I am sorry for my English – my mother tongue ist German…

-) Include a question in the header of your ad. E.g. “Want to become an entrepreneur?” and then
do the proof that Noah’s course (or your product) works… Goal: in my point of view it makes sense, that only those who wan’t to become an entrepreneur should click.

-) You can increase conversion rate, if you DON’T direct the people to an external website.
Let’s integrate a landingpage in a facebook-tab of your facebook-fanpage. My experience is that
people feel uncertain if the landingpage ist not within facebook.

-) I agree with Noah that fans of a facebook-page can be valueless. For sure, having their
email-address is the best case. However, have you already tried to get both (fan & email-address)?
In my point of view, the worst case is the following: they click on your FACEBOOK-AD and they DON’T
SIGN UP and they DON’T BECOME a fan. They are lost forever.
As a result: integrate your landingpage within a facebook-tab of your fansite AND integrate a facebook-likegate. Just try it.

-) Regarding Noah’s profitability accounting: you should not ignore the following formula: Cost per Acquisition has to be lower than Customer Lifetime Value. So, try to estimate CLV.

-) Converting Facebook-Fans into paying customers: there are a lot of tactics to convert facebook fans…

With all those things we were able to decrease cost per email from € 3.- to € 0,8.-.

Looking forward to your response/critics/…

@ Noah: I am looking forward to your post regarding CUSTOM-AUDIENCES…

all the best, Laurenz

May 15, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Laurenz, thanks for adding this to Noah’s great tutorial. Building my page now, but how do I do what you said: “integrate your landingpage within a facebook-tab of your fansite AND integrate a facebook-likegate.” ? Noah, if you have tips on this or another tutorial I’d love to see it.

October 14, 2014 at 2:18 am

Great article Noah. And great contribution Laurenz! I do agree that the most important kpi to look for is the CLV in order to get profitable campaigns.

@Laurenz as I am another european reader of Noah´s blog, I would like to share and talk to you some insights about Fb ads.

Shall we get in contact?




Tarlon Moghadam
April 10, 2015 at 11:36 am

What do you mean by, “integrate your landingpage within a facebook-tab of your fansite AND integrate a facebook-likegate. Just try it.” How would one go about doing this?

Christopher Hill
March 5, 2014 at 9:36 am

Thanks Noah!
I went in to amend one of our ads, and the layout is quite different.
For example, we ONLY had the option of a right hand ad, the option for the Newsfeed is not even there.
Also, I cannot choose “Call to Action” (learn more) -that box does not appear.
There is something called Conversion Tracking Pixel, which you dont seem to have – what is this?
Also, in the examples you give, you don’t appear to include a bit.ly link, but then you recommend this, yes?
Thanks again!

April 20, 2014 at 9:35 am

Christopher, when you try to edit the existing ad you can’t add “Learn More”. You can do it only when you are creating a new ad.

Noah Kagan
April 20, 2014 at 10:48 am

Thanks for letting us know!

March 5, 2014 at 11:00 am

WOW, this article is really good about Facebook ads, because there are less course about Fb ads compared to Adwords, but really people do spend on facebook huge amount of money. i spend a lot and not gained much, my ads targeted almost 80 million people but you said less than 10,000..

thank you for your valuable insights about Fb ads

March 5, 2014 at 11:00 am

Really great help, Noah. Thank you so much.
Noah, this might be for you in case you didn’t yet heard of it:
In general. its a pain to determine who is your right audience. I got an unbelievable tool that lets me search for very specific keywords. It then crawls through facebook events, groups and pages that match that keyword. Then you can select that specific group and export those FB IDs into a cvs file. Then you can import this custom list into your own ads via custom audience. Its one of the sickest tools Ive used.
Its called audiencemakr, cost $10. But no clue where to get it.
I got it from a dude I follow.

Ryan Even
March 5, 2014 at 11:34 am

Another great post Noah.

This is blog is turning “EPIC” pretty quickly!

Noah Kagan
March 5, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Blush. Thanks Ryan!

Christopher Hill
April 1, 2014 at 8:14 am

Hey Noah,
Thanks so much for this! Some questions though:
I went in to amend one of our ads, and the layout is quite different.
For example, we ONLY had the option of a right hand ad, the option for the Newsfeed is not even there.
Also, I cannot choose “Call to Action” (learn more) -that box does not appear.
There is something called Conversion Tracking Pixel, which you dont seem to have – what is this?
Also, in the examples you give, you don’t appear to include a bit.ly link, but then you recommend this, yes?
Thanks again!

March 5, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Awesome! Only problem is I am unable to input my own interests according to the likes of the competitors. The ad forces me to choose from categories. I input it in the line but it disappears. Anybody know how to deal with this?

March 5, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Yes. When I click Browse, it only opens up the categories Facebook has…

April 1, 2014 at 8:09 am

I just wanted to update and include that, as of right now, Facebook does not allow entering in a specific Group/Page such as a competitor. I have been in contact with Facebook about it and that is what they told me. Correct me if I’m wrong. 🙂

January 21, 2015 at 9:40 am

Your wrong, I spend alot of money on facebook ads aswell and often target competitors facebook pages, its a great, method, and great article useful practice advice. At the end of the day though, your advert has to be good, as the consumers now have keen eyes! Also depending on your niche I have found targeting the older generation very profitable in some instances eg 55-60

Parker Condit
March 5, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Noah, this is great since I just started Facebook ads two weeks ago. So far getting 1000% ROI and have been ignoring CTRs. I’m glad I have been doing some things right so far. The thing I really want to add is the “Learn More” button but I can’t seem to find that option when I’m creating an AD. Regardless, this was really helpful and gave me more confidence to increase my daily AD budget. Thanks a lot!

March 5, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Hi Noah,

Great article and insights. I have been using a tool called Fan Harvest for my fb ads and boy, I have never seen such great CTR and follow up. What the tool does is, you can give it your competitors’ facebook pages and it will analyze them and give you those people who are REAL human beings who are genuinely interested in your competitors.

With a campaign that I ran, I had about 5000 people from the tool and spending $10 on a like campaign I reached 2300 of them in a day. I got 92 likes, 21 people visited my site and they spent 5 minutes on average. Had 54 page views.

I highly recommend this tool. Check it out at http://fanharvest.com/

Eugen Oprea
March 6, 2014 at 2:52 am

Hey Noah,

I just love the simplicity of this. I’ve read quite a few resources about Facebook ads, with little success.

However, your article made me realize that I was letting Facebook get my money, without properly targeting the people I want to reach to.

So my biggest takeaway from this post is the fact that I should choose a really small audience to target and move away from Facebook’s Optimized CPM.


Richard Webb
March 6, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Awesome post Noah, as always. Love the blog, AppSumo and the monthly1k course.

A quick tip – you can kind of automate step 4b) by typing:

“Pages liked by people who like [competitor’s page]”, or
“Favorite interests of people who like [competitor’s page]”

into the Facebook search box. Kind of works for 4a) as well, but only with names, not email addresses (as far as I can tell).

The best thing is you can also use “and” and “or” to search multiple pages/people at once. It’s absolute magic.


March 8, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Love it. I am not a beginner and in my own exploration of facebook ads with several clients and small budgets, I always opt for tight targeting and manually bypass the “easy” options facebook provides in favor of anything marked “advanced”. Facebook has a brilliant system for micro-targeting but many still think the biggest reach wins. I set up a batch of ads, see which one does the best, and start dropping the price on it. Tweaking the ads is a critical part of the campaign. And when you do it with a CPC model manually bidding, you kind of have to be on it, making changes to not waste funds. The ad manager has a robust analytic system for really seeing how they perform. And much of that is all on the regular space. Power Editor is where they test new features so good to use it if you understand the system. I’ll be keeping an eye on you, Noah! Great resource. Thanks!

Lenny Ramirez
March 8, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Can we add Graph Search for the research? Thanks for the awesome post. Can’t wait for the more advanced stuff 🙂

Lenny Ramirez
March 8, 2014 at 8:58 pm

GraphSearch *queries.

Ryan H
March 11, 2014 at 9:17 pm

G-day Noah,
Thank you so much for writing this post, I have been wanting to try my hand at paid advertising through facebook for a while now, and this has made it much easier to jump in!
I have a question regarding your SumoMe tool, I use Weebly to set up my websites because I know NOTHING about coding and it’s all drag and drop. I’d love to be abele to use the SumoMe tool, but I don’t know how to add the code to my site. If you or any other readers of this article know how, I’d love to hear from you.
Thanks again, your emails and articles are an inspiration, nice work mate!

Ryan H.

mark greenman
March 12, 2014 at 5:17 am

This was a really great article Noah, thank you for taking the time to write it.

I’ve played around with the “boost post” feature on my companies fan page, targeting 10 general interests related to my field (I make outdoor/survival gear so I was targeting interests in the military, hiking, certain brands of knives, etc) while trying to reach as wide an audience as possible. The last campaign I ran was for $100, 7 days, reached 22k people, and generated about $270 in sales, avg a 2% conversion rate.

I’m going to to apply your formula to my next go around, and I will report back with how it goes.

Take care,

Gregg Owens
March 12, 2014 at 5:41 am

So good, very helpful!

Thank you

March 14, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Hi Noah,

This is such great info for me right now because I am planning on starting my first facebook ad to a website very soon. I have done some facebook Like ad campaigns for other people’s facebook pages, but I have not made an ad leading to a website yet.

Question, how do you refresh an ad on facebook? I didn’t realize this was even a thing!

Thanks 🙂


March 17, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Okay, so maybe I will just answer my question myself. When reading this post, I was thinking that refreshing the ad was something complicated, but after doing some research, it’s basically just changing the images, wording, etc of the ads from time to time, which I had already been doing, so I guess I’m good to go!

Thanks for all the tips, Noah 🙂


Piseth Kham
March 15, 2014 at 12:52 am

Facebook has become our main tool for marketing and branding of our business.

Jerry Low
March 16, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Hey Noah I have been searching and reading for Facebook marketing all day and this is the best guide I have seen so far. Love how you make complicated things look simple.

P/S: I found okdork via your ‘How I got fired from Facebook’ post. It’s funny to jump from that post to here – where you, sort of, promoting FB marketing services. 🙂

Cheers, Jerry Low

March 23, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Amazing Post! I was looking for something just like this.

March 31, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Thanks for putting this together Noah. I followed along step by step for a website click campaign but I’m currently receiving 1 click per $3.50 – the only thing I did differently from your guide was selecting “automatically optimize bids” instead of manually bidding at .75c – should I try switching to the .75c manual bid?

April 13, 2014 at 4:33 am

Love the article! For some odd reason this article can’t be saved to instapaper though :/

Matt Collins
April 16, 2014 at 3:53 am

For a small business owner like myself, this is a great starting point. I will be doing some FB ads when I have offers and I’ll be using this guide to get started. Comments are very full of insights too!

April 16, 2014 at 6:10 am

Hi, great post there. I just have a question, if i am advertising for a mobile app, is there anything that i have to do differently? thanks

April 19, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Thanks for the free insight, i am just in the middle of planning the promotion of my car electronics blog.

April 28, 2014 at 5:46 am

Hey Noah

I was trying to create my first newsfeed ad but I have not been able to insert a bitly link in the newsfeed text. I get an error notification that reads something like “Your ad text cannot contain 2 punctuation marks or signs in a row. Please remove these to continue”. Any idea what needs to be done here?

May 5, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Just finished my very first Facebook ads campaign! Thanks for the extremely helpful post Noah!!

Noah Kagan
May 5, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Let us know how it goes David!

June 6, 2014 at 11:23 am

My newsfeed ad is only showing a video and no clickable element to the site page I want them to go to. There is no learn more button showing. Does anybody know how to fix this?

June 8, 2014 at 3:38 am

Hey Ryan, you should be seeing a ‘Call To Action (optional)’ field when you click the ‘Edit creatives’ against the ad.

David W
June 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Hi Noah, great article. I followed it to the “T” but I’m about a week into the FB campaign and I only have 20 “reach” and no clicks of the 20. I believe I had the target audience narrowed to about 8500. Should I broaden my “target audience” to “reach” more people?

Thanks, Tallyho!

Greg M.
June 29, 2014 at 12:30 am


I’m actually practicing what was in this article since April. I would say 95% of what was written here is very correct. And that 5% might be your personal case, or when you start scalling it.

I guess there are two reasons why you don’t get clicks: 1) the $ amount of your bid, and 2) the narrow audiences. Try to work with these variables. Also if your ad is already sometime live and it doesn’t perform the likelihood that Facebook graded it as underperforming is very ight. And by doing so Facebook limits your bidding. Try to start a new same typ of campaign.

Currently what I do is I start with oCPC and then when it starts to run well I switch to bid CPC. I noticed when the CTR is about 2%-3% Facebook continues to run your ad even if you lowered your bid.

Hope this helps you!

August 13, 2014 at 8:53 am

Perfect post, Thanks for sharing

Anthony Rosas
August 21, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Thanks for this radical info. I have been pouring over your blog post on Tim Ferris’ blog you did a few years ago about creating a digital product (chihuahua book) and selling it online using Facebook and Reditt ads etc, Where in the process of creating a digital product would you start use Facebook ads? I plan on using the app, Fiverr to source people to do data research on a few topics and also see how many people on Facebook my potential market could be. Your help is much appreciated.

October 9, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Thank you again Chief Sumo. If any new sumo-lings would like more info on facebook ads, and SEM, Chief sponsored Tommy Griffith’s second online class “Paid Search Marketing Course,” unfortunately the promo is no longer going on 🙁 but Tommy’s material is phenomenal and has so many tutorials and walkthrus (similar to this one Chief Sumo has so kindly blessed us with) that’ll save you lots of headaches.

Cheers my friends,


October 30, 2014 at 8:33 pm

I think one of the most important things to take away from this is to really make sure that you disable sidebar ads. News feed ads in Desktop and Mobile view are just so much better.

Michael Williams
December 19, 2014 at 9:39 pm


This is by far the best share I’ve read about starting your first advertising campaign! I’m taking my site live in a couple of weeks, and I can’t wait to share my experience and hopefully positive results! Thanks, Noah!!


Ella Ique
March 16, 2015 at 8:39 am

Hi there,

I have a quick question. If I go for CPA solution, I would need to pay the “conversion value”.

But why does Facebook ask me for “a budget” and “then” tells me about the cost per click?

Thanks for your help!


Jeremiah Say
March 17, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Very interesting read on Facebook ads. I look forward to invest in facebook ads in the near future 🙂

March 19, 2015 at 5:51 am

i don’t like the ads that are on face book

April 29, 2015 at 2:13 am

That man is a king 🙂

jonatan sumavsky
June 17, 2015 at 3:48 pm

This is super valuable! I especially like the way to target new customers based on existing ones. I was just trying to figure this out yesterday so this article couldn’t come at a better time 🙂

Another thing I struggle with is non-boring ads.

How would you make a non boring ad for a pain relief wearable?


jonatan sumavsky
June 17, 2015 at 7:10 pm

What is better: Choosing the option for conversions or clicks?

July 22, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Thank you, Noah. I’ve actually been advertising on Facebook for a few years, but found a few nuggets in your piece that I will use in my future ad buys. Appreciate it.

Will Phillips
August 20, 2015 at 3:10 pm

I love reading articles like this. I will now tweak my Facebook Ads for higher conversions.

Vibhoar Gupta
November 20, 2015 at 5:35 am

We just started adverting on Facebook for our beauty salons. The idea was to promote offers to ladies with high end smartphone devices. I started with click to website ads, and the results were amazing. A friend suggested to try website conversion ads on Facebook. Unfortunately, I did not get a response like I got for clicks to website ads. Both the campaigns were run at same settings. I wonder why the latter did not work. I was under the impression that conversion ads would perform better than click to website ads. But that did not happen for us. Moving back to click to website ads. Will now test carousel ads.

December 2, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Noah, I know about 3000 people who really need to see this, do you mind if I translate it into Malay

Terrance Lach
December 9, 2015 at 4:43 am

Very good article! We are linking to this particularly great content on our site. Keep up the great writing.

January 18, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Hi Noah,
I had a good experience with Facebook ads.
Not to your level, but I got +500 new fans within less than 2 days with just a few dollars of investment.

Thanks for sharing your experience and suggestions!

February 8, 2016 at 4:32 am

We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
Your site provided us with useful information to work on. You have performed a formidable
task and our whole group will likely be grateful to you.

February 8, 2016 at 10:17 am

i have to sites, one is our bread and butter, the other less so. i got really cheap likes but you’re right, just because i got 1000 like in one campaign it doesn’t matter if i’m not getting new leads. After reading your article i think i will invest in getting more clicks to the site in hopes to convert and get emails. question though, what if you website is optimized for mobil. Do you recomend using mobil ads then? also, what do you think about lead ads. Wouldn’t they increase email collections

John Funderburk
February 15, 2016 at 5:46 pm

I am so impressed by your information by far the best I’ve seen

Kris Kemp
February 22, 2016 at 6:47 pm

This post is fantastic! You break everything down into understandable parts. Thank you!

I’ve done a small amount of Facebook advertising and found it to be useless. My understanding of Facebook is that it doesn’t covert to sales. It might as well be titled DistractionBook as there are so many “clickbait” articles and pictures, especially on the newsfeed, competing for your attention. Ads get lost amid all the noise.

Thanks again for dissecting how to advertise on Facebook!

March 10, 2016 at 10:50 am

This is garbage:

“Step 10: Avoid showing your ads to mobile traffic. You can choose this from the Power Editor but I won’t get into that tool at this time. Most likely your page is not mobile designed and that traffic is less likely to purchase or sign up for an email address. After you get your campaign working that is something you can begin optimizing for mobile.”

What are you thinking?!

90% of my customers are mobile-only users.

John Carr
March 15, 2016 at 10:49 am

Great article. One question. Would you still suggest not to run Facebook ads on mobile? As you know, mobile viewers today account for over 75 percent of the market.

Carole Baskin
March 19, 2016 at 11:27 am

Thanks. Your tips inspired me to turn off the mobile and right side bar ads to see if there is an increase in ROI.

March 22, 2016 at 1:37 am

I just want to thank you for such an informative article. This was detailed enough yet simple to get me started in running my first FB campaign for my biz.

Louis Kennedy
April 2, 2016 at 5:50 am

Great article Noah. I’ll start using the tips in my ads right away. Thanks again.

Louis Kennedy

April 5, 2016 at 3:02 pm

This is nice article. I have learnt many things from this article. So this is most important article in the digital marketing sector.

April 8, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Is this post still relevant? I see you discourage the use of advertising for mobile. (?) All in all it looks like great information it’s just I’m about to launch an ad campaign and noticed the article is from 2 years ago and figured out that maybe things have change ever since.

April 26, 2016 at 8:33 am

He didn’t say not to advertise for mobile. He just pointed out that many websites are not mobile friendly … so you have to decide for yourself. Does your website have a mobile version? If so, use it! Best of luck!!!

June 4, 2016 at 5:55 am

In my case Facebook ads have been a dismal failure. The incubation period in my industry is at least a year. It takes an extraordinary amount of dollars to first get likes, followers and eventually a client. I have gone back to more traditional methods and the results are much better than any Facebook ad I ever ran.

May 3, 2016 at 2:29 pm

You can’t use a budget of 3.33. When I created my ad and warning box popped up stating my daily budget has to be at least $5.

June 5, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Just spent $5 on a facebook ad. Let’s see what becomes of it. This is fun. Thanks for this article.

June 6, 2016 at 9:15 am

I am interest with fb

Fotograf nunta Iasi
June 14, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Great article!

Danial Balaji
June 28, 2016 at 12:01 am

One of the best writing i have seen. Really nice article buddy.

August 4, 2016 at 12:42 pm

This has really helped me optimize my Facebook ad campaign. Thanks for sharing this great idea

September 22, 2016 at 10:52 am

Keeping it simple is key! It is so easy to get lost in the weeds when you first start advertising on any platform. Frankly, a lot of the services haven’t made it that simple to advertise in the way you outlined here. Remember, one action beats 1,000 thoughts!

November 17, 2016 at 12:41 am

Thanks for the post. I was wondering if anything has changed since this was published back in 2014? Seems like these are fundamentals?

December 4, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Amazing article! Thanks for sharing your experience.

December 23, 2016 at 12:27 pm

loved it , great article

January 17, 2017 at 9:22 pm

Did you meant to say .1-2% or 1-2% conversion for products? I’ve had nearly 500 clicks, but zero sales.

January 19, 2017 at 11:15 am

Thank Noah! I’m working on my first webinar for my business and doing a ton of research on Facebook Advertising (topic of webinar) and I really liked your article… if you don’t mind, I’ll be putting this page in a list of resources for my listeners.

Roberto Serra
January 19, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Damn good and bright article, many thanks for share your experience!

February 15, 2017 at 9:38 pm

“With AppSumo we’ve built our own internal system to calculate this” – can you provide any additional details here? Thank you

Chris L.
March 2, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Good stuff. Old article, but all still relevant, aside from the comment on mobile, of course. Definitely do not skip mobile ads in 2017.

Noah Kagan
March 4, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Going to update it shortly.

March 14, 2017 at 10:55 am

Where can I reads about ad refreshing and other advanced stuff